Getting acqainted

When I got Cassie, I had to put her in livery for a few weeks until I got organised. Move into our new house. Wait for my two new timber stables to be delivered and erected. Cassie went to a small yard about half an hour’s drive away. It was a beautiful yard. The stables were clean and spacious, there was a sand arena and everything was well fenced. It was not ideal. The distance meant I only had limited time to spend with Cassie, and the yard owner’s ideas on stable management were very different from mine. I wanted to be on my own with my new horse to get to know her, but the yard owner would always be there, asking what I was going to do today and watching. And I didn’t always want to do things. Sometimes, I just wanted to be.

When I brought Cassie home, it was a relief. Now I had time. Time to spend in her company, out in the field during the day, and in the stable when I brought her in for the night. Being alone with Cassie without distractions meant I could watch her body language and her expression. I found she enjoyed her body being groomed, but was touchy around her head and legs. I learned that she was very sensitive. In the morning she would be waiting for me to bring her out into the field, head out over the stable door. If I walked up with too much purpose, her head would disappear and she would retreat to the back of the stable. If I just wandered up with my attention elsewhere, she would try to barge out the stable door the moment I opened it.

We didn’t ride, instead I took her for walks around our land. At first, she could be quite tense, head high, body like a coiled spring, ready to flee. I would keep my body relaxed, my energy low and breathe slowly. If my energy was too low, she would run through me. Finding the balance. Time to build trust.

Your thoughts..

