Hooves – update

It is two months since the shoes came off. Maíre and I are trimming every two weeks and it is getting easier. The first time I put a rasp to my horses’ feet I found it daunting, and I am no stranger to holding a rasp. Now that we are getting more confident, I am enjoying looking after my horses’ feet myself. Never before have I been so intimitely acqainted with horses’ hooves. For the first time I know how my horses distibute their weight and balance by the way their hooves wear. I am pleasantly surprised by the amount of growth that takes place in a fortnight and I now know that Cassie’s feet grow faster than Minnie’s. All the nail holes have grown out, and in Cassie’s feet they were quite high up the hoof wall. Their feet look much stronger now and I am pleased with the transition process.

Cassie’s feet after Friday’s trim:

Right front

Left front

Right hind

Left hind

Side views

The quarter crack on Cassie’s left fore has nearly grown out.


Minnie’s feet:

Right front

Left front

Right hind

Left hind

Side views


2 thoughts on “Hooves – update

Your thoughts..

