Cranio-sacral therapy for Minnie

Last Friday I had a visit from a cranio-sacral therapist. I knew from Maíre’s Ben that she was very good, so I had invited her to come and look at Minnie. It’s been more than a year since Minnie sustained her tendon injury and although the tendon now feels straight, without knots, in fact indistinguishable from the tendon on her other front leg, I still wasn’t happy with Minnie’s recovery. She has been intermittently lame, or if not lame, then she seemed at least tender. Her diagonal hind leg was very stiff, and hard to lift up. Serious injuries that take a long time to heal cause the body to compensate, which can create soreness or stiffness elsewhere. More rest was not going to improve Minnie anymore. Time to call the therapist.

The therapist arrived, I introduced her to Minnie and then walked her around the yard so that the therapist could see how she moved. The therapist found a lot to work on when she assessed Minnie. Jaw, poll, shoulders and back all needed work. Minnie was initially very resistant, and tried to evade the treatment, but eventually she leaned her head against my shoulder and relaxed into it.  

What I like about cranio-sacral therapy is that it is very subtle, unlike the way an osteopath or chiropractor works. Minnie soon started licking and chewing and got some great releases. She even yawned, something I had never seen her do before. At the end of the session, she turned her head and touched the therapist’s arm, acknowledging the work done. A thank you.

The therapist will come back for another session in January. Meanwhile, I feel that Minnie and I have reconnected during the session and I am looking forward to re-establishing the easy partnership I had with Minnie before she got injured. Minnie obviously feels better already, as she showed this morning when she cantered up to me across the frozen ground.  There was a glint in her eye that hadn’t been there in a long time.

7 thoughts on “Cranio-sacral therapy for Minnie

  1. How wonderful to hear she is better! It feels so good to be able to help them (by bringing in the right professionals), doesn’t it?

    I’ve had good experiences with both CST and osteopath, our osteopath was very soft to look at but horses showed that she really did “put her finger where it hurts” (it’s a finnish saying, I don’t know if it translates so well.)

  2. Yes, her coat is like velvet, but Minnie is a very private mare, and she does not like being touched or even groomed and she does not readily admit people in her body space. I respect that, so I generally don’t touch Minnie unless she invites me in.

  3. ” … a private mare .. ” it s’ beautiful that there are people, like you, that can recognize animals as having an entire range of emotions, that deserve our human respect. They are not objects for our use or amusement, and yet so many people still remain unaware. I wish that everyone could think as you do, and as probably all the people who are falling these blogs do. Anyways, I’m just greatful to see there are people who do know, that some horses can be “a private mare” and that it is just fine to be so!

    I talk too much – thank you 🙂

Your thoughts..

