Outside looking in

Horses are so sensitive. They pick up on our moods in an instant and react to the way we feel. Sometimes, our mood can push our horses away and make them feel the need for distance. I have certainly experienced that at times when I came home  in a bad mood or feeling irritable. Minnie and Cassie would glance at me and immediately turn around and walk away. But I have also experienced times when the opposite happens and I seem to draw them in. Those times are precious.

I received an email today that bothered me a bit. It was on my mind when I came home from work and went to say hello to Minnie and Cassie. If the day had been nice I might have stayed outside with them and enjoy their company, but a freezing north-easterly was blowing right through me, so after a little while I went into the house to get warm again.

As I was sitting on the sofa, pondering how to deal with that email, Cassie walked up to the house and looked at me through the window. She stood there for nearly half an hour, her attention on me. Every time I looked at her, she licked her lips. Eventually, I got up and opened the window. Cassie stuck her head in and gently touched my face with her muzzle. I smiled and went off to wrap myself up again. Outside was definitely the better place to be!

One thought on “Outside looking in

  1. If it wasn’t for the flies, wouldn’t it be nice to live in one of those houses some people used to have where the animals lived downstairs attached to the house? Well, if the animals in question were horses, of course.

Your thoughts..

