Halt!

If you do not change direction, you may end up where you are heading – Lao Tzu

Sometimes we make decisions based on rational grounds, ignoring what our instinct tells us, the head overruling the heart. At the beginning of this year I accepted extra hours in the main practice. I tried to convince myself that I could do this, but my heart wasn’t in it. I knew that I wouldn’t enjoy the work and it was 6 full days a week, leaving me with just Sundays off, but under the circumstances I felt I couldn’t refuse the position. A serious mistake, as it turned out.

Weighed down with responsibilities and never enough time to do the work, no matter how many hours I put in, I pushed myself on, depleting all my energy in the process. Time was a race and I was losing. Finally, my body took over and pulled me up.

Now, I am home and for the first time in months I don’t have to do anything. At some point I will have to think about picking up the reins again, but for the moment it’s enough to simply be.

4 thoughts on “Halt!

  1. I hope your break is a rejuvenating one!
    I wanted to let you know that I hauled my horses to meet a barefoot trimmer, have boots on order, and signed up for the summer trim class. Whew! Lots of changes, and a little soreness but I was prepared for a transition period. I just hope my boots fit. . .the trimmer didn’t carry boots for fitting, which bothered me some, but otherwise her ideals jived with the direction I was wanting to go. And, she gave me great hope for Socks and his navicular pain!!

    • That is great news RaR! A lot of horses with navicular pain seem to benefit hugely from going barefoot. Which boots did you order? I found measuring for boots very confusing and as it turned out I could have done with a bigger size, but they will fit behind, so that was lucky. Learning to trim was one of the best things I ever did, and even though the transitioning period has ups and downs, it is so worth it! I look forward to reading your stories!

      • I ordered the Easyboot Epics. I looked at the Renegades for a long time but from what I could gather, they are harder to fit on a horse in the transitional period due to the taller heels. And, yes, sizing is stressful!! The boots should be in on Wednesday so I guess I’ll see how well I did in that area then ;).

Your thoughts..

