Tendons and ligaments

Minnie had her scan today. The vet told me he had good news and bad news. The good news was that there was no repeat injury to the tendon, it looked the same as on the last scan. The bad news was that this time she got a suspensory ligament injury.  The vet looked up at me and said, ” I don’t know if you’ll want to continue with this mare, she’ll need at least another 3 or 4 months rest before we can think about rehabilitating her, and I don’t know how much good she’ll be. This is now a very weak leg.”

I use different vets for different problems. This vet treats mostly race horses and he is excellent with leg injuries, which is why I took Minnie to him when she initially got her tendon injury. He is used to dealing with owners for whom a horse must be useful, so the implied (but unasked) question about what I wanted to do with Minnie didn’t bother me. I just smiled and replied that I love this mare, and that as long as she was pain-free, that would be good enough for me.

6 thoughts on “Tendons and ligaments

  1. Minnie is in the best hands possible. There is so much more to horses than what we have in riding, so much more, and you write about that very thing often. The way I see it, Minnie’s life with you is rich and more than useful, isn’t it?

  2. Muddy is spot on. . .regardless of the prognosis, you know that Minnie is more than a mode of transport or a widget. She is your friend. You are both lucky to have the other.
    Best of luck with her.

  3. I had to permanently retire my mare Maisie at age 14 just last year for the same reasons – she’s had repeated DDFT/suspensory injuries and the scarring was too bad for her to be sound for riding any more – she’s enjoying life as a retired horse and is pasture sound, which is good enough for me.

  4. Any idea what caused the injury? It sounds like it’s going to cause less problems in the long run having two separate injuries on the same leg than a repeat of the same injury …. ? As time goes by and she’s pasture sound again, she’ll be a great nanny for giving pony rides to your grandchildren! By then she’ll be old and wise.

    I’m glad I don’t have to prove my usefulness in order to justify my continued existence!

  5. Thank you all for your kind and heart warming comments. The past week was tough and I’ve had to listen to quite a few comments from people who see horses as commodities and assumed I would put Minnie down due to her lack of usefulness. A sad point of view, and I’m sure people like that will never experience how deep the relationship with your horse can go. Yes, Minnie has her own life and as long as she is pain free, she is with me for life. I still hope she may eventually be able to do a bit of light hacking, because she absolutely loves it, but if not, then so be it.

    June, you made me laugh and you’re so right,I wouldn’t like to have to prove my own usefulness either!

  6. You’ll be setting all those people a good example and maybe make them question their assumptions a little and hopefully think a little differently about their own horses.

Your thoughts..

